34 comments on “wordle 40

  1. whimsygizmo says:

    First time at the Whirl in a long time. Loved these words. Mine is here: http://whimsygizmo.wordpress.com/2012/01/27/knack-smackdown/

  2. Anya Padyam says:

    I love the wordles – it helps in the flow of the poem

    I almost could each line one after another ๐Ÿ™‚ Yeah – not as good as some of the other wonderful pieces here… but am so glad I cld join in…

  3. Mr. Walker says:

    Getting back into the poetry habit again. Small stones helped, but glad to be back at the Whirl again.

    Richard (aka Mr. Walker)

  4. Tilly Bud says:

    I’m back after a long absence. I’ve tried to write something with every wordle but this is the first thing I’ve managed. Not your fault – the wordles have been great.

  5. julespaige says:

    Wordie #40: http://www.sundaywhirl.wordpress.com – Thank you, Brenda!
    sisters, instinct, scald, crush, charm, story, scatter, whispering, knack, shards, urges, ashen

    Loco-motion

    Driven by instinct Minerva ran across the shell shards on the beach
    Crushing the air from her lungs, her urges so great to return to the sea

    The pearls around her heck – her good luck charm warmed her skin
    Though the mermaid still felt the ashen effects of her human existence

    Driven by the whispering of her sisters comforting calls
    Minerva would not let her loverโ€™s memories scald her return

    The story she had to tell of her life as his wife would flow from her lips
    As easily as her knack for swimming would return once her tail re-evolved

    Driven once by her the scatter of her restless dreaming Minerva found a land-love
    However, her happy ending was only to come once she returned to her true home

    JP/davh

    • tmhHoover says:

      Hey Jules- great to see you here!

    • brenda w says:

      The first couplet pulls me into the story… this is an engaging read, Jules. I love it.

      I’m sorry I didn’t get this up sooner. Captain Obvious forgets to check her spam folder. I think it didn’t come through because it’s a longer comment. Glad to have you here, and I look forward to reading more of your work.

      • julespaige says:

        Brenda, I almost have some blog issues worked out – I was able to get a page up with just Mermaid Verse (one I have to figure out how to delete…as I have it posted twice. But your Wordle #39 was another Mermaid inspiration … I may have forgotten to transfer one. But there are now five verse inspired by different prompts from the web – this is turning out to be a fun series. I also figured out how to put the link in…enjoy. And many thanks. ~J

        Mermaid verse: http://julesgemsandstuff.blogspot.com/p/mermaid-verse.html
        (…with a little bit of help – Thanks, Margo!)

  6. julespaige says:

    I feel like I just finished 39… but the words in this wordie #40 seem to be leading to a ‘sea’quel’ …to my #39 that is. Thanks from me also Brenda for these wonderful challenges.

  7. tmhHoover says:

    Brenda- I feel so thankful to have found this way of prompting my writing. You just cannot know how these words have allowed me the space to weave together the edges with blessings. Who knew? Looking forward to reading what others have found.xo

  8. It took me a bit to get this poem out just the way I wanted, but I like the result!

  9. Mine is up. Great work, Brenda.

  10. bniedt says:

    This seemed to fit very well with Robert Brewer’s prompt – somehow words like “crush”, “scald”, “instinct”, “shards” and “ashen” lend themselves well to a poem about cruelty. My poem can be found on this week’s Poetic Asides blog post (one of the last ones posted for this week): http://www.writersdigest.com/editor-blogs/poetic-asides/poetry-prompts/wednesday-poetry-prompts-162

  11. nan says:

    A day late, but happy to be here.

  12. pmwanken says:

    Good news and bad news…

    Good news (for me, anyway) is that I finished my wordle and it’s still Sunday! (As opposed to last week’s prompt which took me ’til Friday to write.)

    Bad news is that I have yet to catch up on reading. I might just have to jump in where I stand and not look back (…at least until later…).

    Happy Sunday…and happy wordling! And…GOOD HEALTH to ALL!! ๐Ÿ™‚

    ~Paula

  13. Kelly says:

    Hey everyone, I’ve been absent for a while. Still working on this one, but did just now finish my poem from last week’s wordle. I linked from Brenda’s 1/15 post, but you can also get there by clicking on my name. Thanks, all. Have a fabulous week ahead!

  14. Cathy says:

    Brenda- hope you are feeling better now.

  15. Alice Hoffman is one of my favorite authors, and I got to meet her at a reading in Portland.
    The Story Sisters was incredible, as is her new book, although, quite different. she truly weaves
    her stories.

  16. Pseu says:

    I haven’t had a go before… here’s my attempt
    http://pseu1.wordpress.com/2012/01/22/wordle-22nd-january/

  17. Thank you! Such beautiful words, fell in love with ‘ashen.’ I’m hooked on wordles now.

  18. Thanks Brenda. You have my muse stoked. The ensuing conflagration of thought burns unbridled. Great words.

  19. markwindham says:

    Not sure about this one…but the exercise is good. Still stuck with literal use of the words, quite unoriginal.

  20. b_y says:

    I can’t wait to see what people do with “ashen”. I kept trying to avoid faces and sky, but darn it, the word is a good one.
    Thanks, Brenda. Wouldn’t have thought of this without the wordle.

  21. The words sisters is what did it for me. ๐Ÿ™‚ Thanks Brenda, happy wordling everyone. Have a great week.

  22. Marianne says:

    I am a huge fan of Alice Hoffman but have not read The Story Sisters. Will be on the look-out for a copy. No poem came to me this time. Hope my muse has not left me.

  23. Brenda … Hope you a feeling well …. Thank you for these words… The unconscious is a marvelous medium … I received the words early and simply glanced and saved them … wrote something early this morning…returned to find that the words had come from Alice Hoffman… and sisters! I often do write of sisters in wordles – but still – was an warm feeling to know that the source of the prompt had been saved somewhere within me along with the words…

    Enjoy the day and thank you again – for my Sunday morning pleasure.

  24. Mary says:

    These words took me in an unexpected direction AGAIN! Have a good week, everyone.

  25. Brenda, hope you are feeling better. Happy wordling to all!
    I am up way too early, yikes!

    Pamela

  26. Susannah says:

    Happy Sunday everyone. ๐Ÿ™‚

    It is good to be here again. I will be back later to visit and read.

    Have a lovely day. x

Leave a comment