wordle 41


Dear Wordlers,

It’s Saturday night, and the Montana State Speech and Debate Tournament is finished. Three of my speech girls broke into semi finals. That means they placed among the top 16 in their events in the state of Montana. We had four debaters make the stage by placing in the top 8 in the state. It was a good meet for us, and I am proud to be affiliated with our team. They are an amazing group of young people, who give me hope for the future of our species.

This week’s words come from “One Day You Wake Up,” by Ann Hunkins. You can find the poem in I Go to the Ruined Place, a compilation of poems written “in defense of global human rights.” One of the editors of the compilation is M. L. Smoker, a Montana poet. A member of the Assiniboine and Sioux tribes, Smoker is a poet in her own right. For an excellent read check out Smoker’s first book of poetry, Another Attempt at Rescue.  A link to more information about both books is in the sidebar.

Preparing for the speech meet kept me away from many of your poems last week. Hopefully, I’ll make it to many pieces tomorrow. It tickles me to see that both Tilly Bud and Mr. Richard Walker came back to the Whirl in the same week. Welcome Back!

It’s nice to have a few newbies, too. Welcome.

Brenda

 

35 comments on “wordle 41

  1. daphnepurpus says:

    I really liked this–got it done just before the next one posts, but at least I’m subscribed now! Many congratulations on your team’s performance! Very inspiring!

  2. Annette says:

    Thanks for the welcome. I’m a newbie, and I’m in –

  3. brenda w says:

    Thanks to all of you great wordlers out there, for the well wishes and birthday wishes. It’s been a busy week, and I’m off now to read your poems, comments, etc. Life is good when it’s busy, but it keeps me away. You all make me feel great, and I’m glad you are here.

  4. Mr. Walker says:

    Wrote my poem this morning and posted. Brenda, thanks for the welcome back. I will return after work today to read others’ poems and leave comments.

    Richard

  5. Awesome words this week, as usual!

  6. S.E.Ingraham says:

    Very cool news about your debate team Brenda. And, thanks for the tip about this topic of poetry-writing – after years of writing anti-war and pro-peace poetry, a subtle shift to “in defense of global human rights” work might be just the topic for which I’ve been searching … loved these words also even tho’ I didn’t do a whole lot with them …my poem is here:
    http://thepoet-tree-house.blogspot.com/2012/01/you-with-your-heart.html

  7. Shawna says:

    This is the first I’ve seen this prompt. I’ll have to give it a try next week. You can check out mine too; I just posted the challenge today.

  8. b_y says:

    Yo, Brenda!
    Got an acceptance this weekend. It was a poem I wrote to one of your wordles, back last May. Very literally, could not have done it without you. Thank you.
    (you’ll have to imagine that in huge letters, maybe sparkling)

  9. julespaige says:

    Mon Jan 30, 2012 With thanks to Brenda and the Sunday Whirl
    https://sundaywhirl.wordpress.com Wordie #41:
    born, feet, fresh, froze, earth, serenity, flame, anguish, shocks, field, startles, permeable
    The prequel? For those of you who have read the (what is turning out to be a) series so far…

    Minerva

    Daniel was the odd man out the eldest born son
    And not yet married he wondered what shocks
    Would reverberate through his family when he
    Was to finally announce his engagement

    He had always had an affinity towards the sea
    Where the permeable waters met with the earth at the shore
    As well as where in the fresh water springs would rise like magic
    Disappearing just as quick in his uncles’ farm field

    Daniel found that in times of personal anguish
    Especially in nights when the pond froze over in winter
    That his feet could carry him under the reflected flame of the sun
    Tugged by the serenity of the moon’s face – he could find peace…

    He was walking on such a night when he met her –
    Her fresh voice singing hauntingly there near the willow
    The sway of the empty branches caused the silent startles
    Of the leafless branches and pine shadows on the water

    Daniels was smitten with love at first sight
    There sitting at the end of the short pier was a woman
    He blinked as if in a dream watching her transform
    Her lower half of a fish tail into pearl-silver legs…

    He pledged to care for her as long as she would let him
    And to his surprise she agreed then and there to marry
    As soon as he picked her up to carry her back to his home
    It seemed as if a multitude of history filled his brain…including her name…

    JP/davh

    (I haven’t yet figured out how to link. My name takes you to my small stones blog, and when I tried to put a link in a notice came up saying I had some misinformation…The other Mermaid poems can be found at:
    http://julesgemsandstuff.blogspot.com )

  10. julespaige says:

    Brenda – Happy birthday! I’m going to work on my wordie for my Daily Gatheriing daily piece. I have a few moments since my grandson just fell asleep… Thank you for gathering words for the whirl – I can always work my way backwards if I ever get stuck for what to write about. I’m going to write first and then read some other contributions. Thanks too to all the regulars and new additions (of which I guess I’m one!). Though I think I did do a wordie a while ago. Cheers all!

  11. Hi Brenda, I hear it’s your Birthday? Happy Birthday and many happy returns of the day! 🙂 Thank you for the words, I’ve enjoyed working with them. I always enjoy your Whirls.

  12. As I will be traveling tomorrow, I put mine up today. Happy Wordling!

  13. markwindham says:

    Lots of High School memories there: was on the debate team in Houston (I was not very good, but the program was huge), then moved to VA where there was no debate team; made state in oratory. Really not liking how long ago that was…

  14. tmhHoover says:

    You must post these prompts at midnight on Saturday and everyone must stay up all night writing. I am a bit new here and am always surprised at how quickly people do their writing! Thanks again Brenda- and sounds like birthday greetings are in order and congrats with you team! Safe drive back.

  15. brenda w says:

    Thank you for your great comments this morning. I just woke up in Helena, and posted my piece. My husband and I are going to do a bit of exploring and then head for home. I’ll visit you later this afternoon, or maybe in the car on the way home with my iPhone. 🙂 Interesting world, eh?

  16. margo roby says:

    Blogger still refuses to accept comments from me, so for all of you with Blogger blogs, I’m anonymous. I’ll try and remember to leave my name.

    margo

    • Mary says:

      Margo, thanks for sharing that you are anonymous. I had wondered. You didn’t leave your name. But Glad I know.

    • Mary says:

      So irritating that you are having a problem, Margo. I will give you a better alternative than “Anonymous.”

      If you don’t want to sign on as Anonymous….this is what you do:

      You choose the option Name / URL (instead of Anonymous)

      You write your name Margo Roby
      and then you can also include your blog website (under URL), so people can come to your website through that link.

      I think this is a better choice than Anonymous; and some Bloggers don’t allow ‘anonymous’ posts anyway.

  17. margo roby says:

    Thank you, Brenda. Coming here on Sundays is like arriving at a coffee shop, where I know a group of friends is waiting and more will drop by.

    Happy Birthdays and Congratulations.

  18. Mary says:

    Good luck to your team, Brenda! Thanks for posting despite all of the excitement in your life.

  19. anl4 says:

    Just a little Happy Birthday, and a thank you.

  20. Marianne says:

    HAPPY BIRTHDAY, Brenda!!! You have gone above and beyond this week. You are remarkable! Thank you for always making The Whirl happen, especially in the midst of this very busy weekend!

  21. Good luck with the semi finals WTG YOU and the girls. Thanks for the prompt!!
    Happy wordling wordlers 🙂

  22. Laurie Kolp says:

    Brenda- I always look forward to Sunday Whirls. Thanks for all you do to inspire us!!

  23. nan says:

    You must be feeling very proud of your students. How nice for them! Thanks for some interesting words today!

  24. Congrats on the tournament! You must be proud, Brenda. Thanks for the words.

    Pamela

  25. Rinkly Rimes says:

    http://rinklyrimes.blogspot.com/2012/01/history-repeats-itself.html

    Thank you for a really inspiring list this weekend.

  26. b_y says:

    Go! Team! That’s something I can not manage–thinking and talking at the same time. I have enough trouble reading.

    Thanks for the words.

Leave a Reply

