wordle 39 ~ A Baker’s Dozen

Happy Sunday Wordlers,

This week’s words come to us from our own Barbara Yates Young. She pulled this baker’s dozen from Thoreau’s Walden. She pulled them from the “Pond in Winter” chapter. She had difficulty using the wordle generator, but I appreciate the new look for this wordle.  Thank you, Barbara for helping out this week.

Please stop and read the work of your fellow poets and writers if you post a link to your piece.  After all, we are all interested in feedback.  Make it a goal to visit the work of the writers who take the time to read and comment on your pieces.  It builds community, and that’s a good thing.

Walk in peace,

Brenda

42 comments on “wordle 39 ~ A Baker’s Dozen

  1. julespaige says:

    Sun Jan 22, 2012 With thanks to Brenda and Wordie #39 sudaywhirl.wordpress.com
    (In no particular order:) vain, dotted, dormant, reel, resolution, contemplate,crisp, broad, still, kneeling, surface, spectacle, depth

    Tales, Scales and Fins

    Minerva stood upon the widows walk to contemplate her fate
    Looking to the north she could see the broad street from the pier
    Where the town would make a spectacle of the returning fishers
    She had made a resolution for this New Year
    For one last time she use her legs for kneeling

    Minerva repeated a silent prayer for her love
    All to soon he would return to an empty and still house
    She new that when she grabbed his hook that he would reel her in
    But she could remain a dormant human no more
    For twenty years she had lived with him that had to be enough

    Minerva stood up in the crisp cool morning air
    With the full moon still high on the horizon
    She did not really think that she was all that vain
    But when she looked towards the south and to the sea
    Dotted with the life she missed and longed for…

    Minerva, understood that she was meant to return some day
    She belonged under the surface of that blue-green ocean
    So slowly returned to her dresser and opened her jewelry box
    Off went the diamonds he had betrothed her with and on again
    Went the pearls… her true treasure of the great deep beyond

    Minerva was sad to be leaving him a widower, but at least
    There were no children for him to tend – she had made sure of that
    But her heart had a depth no mortal man could ever really fill
    Quietly out the old Victorians’ back door,
    She walked one last time toward her true home…

    JP/davh

  2. julespaige says:

    There is so much to choose from inspiration wise. I enjoy the challenge of your whirly-words. Working now in a bakery…I must attempt this one! I’ll be baked! (OK…really, I’ll be back!)

  3. pmwanken says:

    I was DETERMINED (all caps to emphasize, not to shout ;)) to not let this week pass without wordling! I’ve had a craaaazy busy couple weeks, but finally managed to put into words the picture that kept coming into my mind every time I thought of these words.

    This weekend I hope to catch up on reading some of the wonderfully wordled poems from the past two Sundays…just in time for the new prompt to show up in a couple days. 😀 I apologize in advance if I don’t make it around to everyone!

    ~Paula

  4. Cathy says:

    I’m back after couple months being away. Hopefully I can get back in the groove. Oh course, threatening the muse with a lightsaber always help.

  5. brenda w says:

    Pearl, I cannot comment on your site, either. I love the dark imagery in your first piece. It is haunting, full of metaphor, and well written. Nicely done.

    Hopefully blogger issues will resolve so I can post comments on your site. Have a good week. 🙂

  6. margo roby says:

    Bloger has been iffy the past couple of days. Yesterday it wouldn’t take my comment to Sharon but today would. Today it won’t take my comment to you, Sara, so here it is:

    A double etheree works so beautifully for the winding and unwinding of the speaker’s life. And the words evoke compassion. This is a lovely poem.

    margo

  7. Ruth says:

    A baker’s dozen! – I was interested (to say the least) to see where the words took me… and now I get to explore where they took the other Wordlers.

  8. brenda w says:

    Sharon….I am unable to leave a comment on your blog, but did get it to open so that I could read your piece, “Praying to an Unhearing God.” It touched me quite deeply. It was difficult for me to conceive and my pregnancy was high risk. The fears that I experienced play out in your piece. Thank you for writing it.

    • seingraham says:

      Thanks for going to my site and reading Brenda (and commenting of course) – I too had trouble conceiving – we didn’t have our girls until we were 12 years into our marriage … Not sure what happened about the commenting snafu but some are up so it may have been a minor glitch at the time …?

      • brenda w says:

        I still can’t comment on your site, or on Pearl’s site. I’ll try from a school computer tomorrow. Perhaps it’s some kind of bug on my machine. It opens your blog, but then when I try to comment it goes to a white screen. Weird.

  9. pmwanken says:

    Still runnin’ in circles with family in town visiting…this is my first chance to see the words. I’ll be back to write, and hopefully be able to catch up on reading (this week AND last week’s) later this week or the weekend. Happy wordling’, all! 🙂 ~Paula

  10. Have not had a reading opportunity yet, but I did post another Wordle based on the same prompt.

  11. Memories pervade these thoughts. A great mix of verbiage to bring them to the fore. Thanks.

  12. Traci B says:

    Took me a while to do anything with the words, but I came up with something. Enjoy!

    http://poemflow.wordpress.com/2012/01/16/fishing/

  13. Janet says:

    love, love, love this collection of words…so many possibilities!

  14. I had a whole lot of fun with these words. Ended up with a poem with a bit of attitude, but not nearly as dark as my writing tends to be. Have a great week everyone!

  15. tmhHoover says:

    I am finished with mine… now of to read a few before bed. Thanks again Brenda-I hope blogger is working again.

  16. A couple of difficult words in this set, but I finally managed something. Thanks for the words, Barb.

    Pamela

  17. I am really getting hooked on these! Mine is up.

  18. Beautiful words, thank you for the prompt!

  19. brenda w says:

    ATTENTION! It looks like Blogger (or maybe Blogspot?) is flaking out today. Thank you Margo for pointing it out. When I go to some of your Blogger blogs, the image of the blog flashes then disappears. The links provided in Mister Linky are correct, but your sites are not loading. Hopefully this will be rectified by Blogger soon. I’ll keep giving it a try.

  20. Susannah says:

    I missed last week, it is good to be back. 🙂

  21. brenda w says:

    This weekend, I was at a speech and debate meet in Bozeman, and did not return home until midnight last night. It was fun, our team had some success. I’ll be writing my piece today, and posting/reading later. You all have been busy already. 🙂

  22. Marianne says:

    Beautifully presented wordle! I thoroughly enjoyed this challenge! Many thanks.

  23. Traci B says:

    I’ll have something this afternoon, but I wanted to say I like the look of the wordle. Also, if Barbara tried to use Wordle.net in Explorer, they have never played well together for me. Firefox works better with that site.

  24. margo roby says:

    Poems can and do speak strongly, don’t they Sharon.

    Mine’s up and I’m off to read everyone who was awake far too early this morning, unless, of course, you are across the way, or way down below.

  25. Lovely way the worlde words have been presented this week. Yes, building a community of wordlers would be wonderful. Happy wordling everyone. Mine’s up.

  26. Laurie Kolp says:

    Amen, Brenda. Have a great day everyone!

  27. Irene says:

    It builds community, and that’s a good thing.

    I hear ya, Brenda!

  28. seingraham says:

    Wow – I don’t think I’ve ever been first at any of the prompts – and it’s not that I found the words easy – in fact, I tried to combine them with a couple of other prompts but this darker poem kept coming out so I decided it was meant for these words and let it be …

Leave a Reply

