Wordle 19


Greetings Wordlers,

This week’s words came from your poems. Richard Walker is busy catching up with all of the wordles he missed this summer. My guess is that many of you are as happy to see him participating again as I am, so I grabbed the first four words from his poem The Banker on his blog, Sadly Waiting for Recess. Richard’s work contributed residue, turn, skins, and truth. The next four words came from Mary Kling’s piece Sunday Drives on her blog In the Corner of My Eye. Sunday Drives had me reminiscing about my childhood and from it I took the words dust, trunk, matter, and breeze. Finally I took four words from Susannah’s piece Love or Something Like it on her blog Panopticulated. The word cloak compelled me to take words from this piece. The closing image is gorgeous. The words cloak, vessel, sweeps, and fervent came from Susannah’s work.

There is a new “Welcome to the Whirl” page with info about the site. You can find it on a tab under the header, if you are interested. To enter, click on the Mister Linky banner. It opens in a new page where you can leave a url linking to your post.

To those of you who play with these words every week, thank you. To those of you who are just starting to dabble in the wonder of the wordle, welcome. Now get writing!

Brenda

30 comments on “Wordle 19

  1. ms pie says:

    so glad to be able to post on time!!!… love wordles… ephemeral eternal

  2. Mr. Walker says:

    Brenda, thanks for the kind words – and for choosing words from one of my poems. You rock! How you managed to keep up with these wordles over the summer and with school approaching is beyond me – and certainly my paltry abilities. I bow down to you in gratitude. Have a great school year. I hope your first day goes smoothly.

    Richard

  3. Hello… apologies for missing Sunday and Monday …. am enjoying whirling….
    going to see if I can do some more….

    Here my #19
    http://www.drpkp.com/2011/08/sunday-whirla-wordle.html

    • brenda w says:

      Glad to have you Pearl. No worries about missing…we all have busy lives. I teach and school starts tomorrow(yay!). It’s been a whirlwind of a week, and I’m just now doing some wordle rounds.

      • Thank you Brenda… such a delight to wordle…. ❤ I too, was a teacher
        "in a previous life-time" years ago before I returned to school for another hat
        in addition to writing of course!

        Happy first day of school!

      • Brenda… question… I copied the “whirdle box” and they’ve now all disappeared from my blog… How does one properly copy the weekly whirdle?

  4. Fun words, took me political though. A political sonnet! LOL I like the look of this place with the Linky.

  5. Jennifaye says:

    Another news inspired poem at http://jennifaye.wordpress.com/2011/08/30/a-bitter-pill/
    Thanks for the wordle, Brenda! 🙂

  6. kaykuala says:

    Brenda,
    This my first tryout on wordles. I think it is really challenging. I’ll make sure I’ll come in often.

    Hank

  7. Dear Brenda
    Hi
    A couple of holidays gave me time.The result is presented, though I am not satisfied-
    http://poeticocean.blogspot.com/2011/08/poem-in-response-to-w-Brendas-wordle-19.html

  8. islandcat2u says:

    Thanks! My 1st whirl at wordle was a blast, and not too bad for a newbie. suggestions are welcome – I am very new to writing poetry.

  9. Nanka says:

    Hello Brenda, the twelve words were a bit tough on Haiku but my attempt is up and linked!! 🙂

  10. Couldn’t fit “skins” in so I stuck it in the title. Thanks for being here, Brenda.

    Pamela

  11. Mike Patrick says:

    Great words this week, something to have fun with.

  12. Peggy Goetz says:

    I think I am finally figuring how to navigate the WordPress sites and Mr. Linky. I wish there were an easier way to get to the make a comment place from the Mr. Linky page. I guess the Internet wants to keep me always discovering something new.

  13. Laurie Kolp says:

    Thanks, again. My wordle is posted on my Blogspot blog:

    http://lkharris-kolp.blogspot.com/2011/08/imprints-of-guilt.html

  14. Cathy says:

    Ok I got the words as Irene hands me her winds now. They are really start to pick up now. Ah a good day to do nothing but work on revising poems. Also can you please put me on email list for Friday’s list. If you need an email addy, I’ll send it later or tomorrow.

    • brenda w says:

      Sure Cathy…I think I have it, but then I thought you were on the list. I’ll double check, and email you if I do have it. Stay dry, stay safe, write. 🙂

  15. 1sojournal says:

    Thanks for the words Brenda, this one was surprisingly quick and painless, lol

    Elizabeth

  16. b_y says:

    Whirl’s looking pretty.

  17. Leo says:

    Like the new look to the blog 🙂 It just increases the beauty. Today, I could search my muse through your wordle. Thank you…

    I’m the same ol’ Leo, at a different space from now 🙂 at Blogspot.

    http://1mind2worlds.blogspot.com/2011/08/i-search-for-her.html

  18. Mary says:

    Brenda, thanks for taking words from a poem of mine. This made me smile. I posted the link to my poem using Mr. Linky!

  19. Susannah says:

    How great to see my words used in this weeks wordle, thank you. 🙂

    I love to see where the words take me, this week was no exception.

  20. Wow I’m an early bird this week. Thanks Brenda!
    To new wordlers, happy wordling 🙂

  21. Rinkly Rimes says:

    http://rinklyrimes.blogspot.com/2011/08/rejuvenation.html

    The words gelled easily this week. Pure chance gave them a sort of cohesion!

  22. vivinfrance says:

    Sorry Brenda, I thought the linky had rejected my shortened name, so I posted it twice.

Leave a comment