Wordle 18 ~ Baker’s Dozen

Dear Wordlers,

About a year ago, someone over at Big Tent Poetry suggested the site Language is a Virus.  From that site, the words for this week’s wordle were taken from Charles Bukowski’s set of electronic poetry words.  Here’s a link: Bukowski’s Words   Play around at the site for a bit, words will thank you.  As it is the third Sunday of the month, I threw in an extra word:  granite (I’m winking at Magical Mystical Teacher).

The overwhelming majority of you like Mister Linky, so he will stay.  I have a help ticket in to them, to figure out how to keep the links right below this post, rather than opening in a new window.  Hopefully, by next week, that will be up and running.  I’m a digital immigrant.  The only reason I know technology as well as I do, is because I teach in a technology rich middle school.  🙂  My students know far more than I do.  As for the delivery of the wordles….for now it will stay the same.  The voting was neck and neck.  I also checked several blogs who entered poems later in the week, and they received several visitors.  Thank you for building this community.  I put the words out there, but you guys make this an “us.”  It’s keeping me writing, even when I feel dry.

If there is anyone who wants the words early, I am willing to form an email group and send them on Friday evenings to you.  You can post them here starting Sunday, as usual, just let me know.

41 comments on “Wordle 18 ~ Baker’s Dozen

  1. Dear Brenda
    Hi
    Hopw you are fine. Still awaiting your comment on Poem 17~
    Here are some lines for Wordle 18~
    http://poeticocean.blogspot.com/2011/08/poem-in-response-to-w-brendas-wordle_28.html
    regards
    anjum dar

  2. Cathy says:

    Ok posted my poem (hopefully I’m not the last one too) Looking to seeing the list of words in my email inbox on Friday. Give me something to do as I watch Irene get closer to my area. I’m in PA but still in her path.

  3. Mary says:

    OK, Brenda, I kept checking your site so see if you re-evaluated your plan to send around the words to people on Friday if they wished them. Since that is apparently what you will do, please send me the wordle words tomorrow, and each succeeding Friday,too.

  4. Mike says:

    I recently came across ‘Haibun’ and thought I would have a go using this week’s wordle words.
    I/n not sure if it worked – no doubt folks will soon let me know!

  5. Mr. Walker says:

    Okay, I’m back. I’m gone for about a month and everything changes. Mr. Linky! Debate and discussion! So here’s my two cents worth. I rarely manage to write a poem on Sunday. I need a day or two to work with the words and come up with something I’m okay with to share. I’ve always found that even though I often post “late” that plenty of people come by and read my poem. (It does help if you read other’s poems and leave comments.) Anyway, thanks again Brenda. I’m glad you’re doing this. I know firsthand how busy a teacher’s life can be. I’ve settled into my new school year, and now I’m ready to read and write poems again. I’ll be back after work today to read and comment.

    Richard

    • brenda w says:

      Welcome back, Richard. I’ve missed your contributions! I hope your school year goes well. We get kids next Wednesday. My classroom is awesome this year…I’ve had a creative week preparing. 🙂

  6. Traci B says:

    Finally made something out of this potpourri of words. 🙂 My link is on Mr. Linky. Now I’m off to read everyone else’s poetic gems.

  7. Tilly Bud says:

    I finally made it!

  8. islandcat2u says:

    I just found out about this today and am going to give it a shot when I’m around. Thanks – it looks like fun!

  9. http://salbuttaci.spruz.com/blog.htm?a=&nid=978DDDB1-AAC5-4A4C-B59A-78242BDCDDFA

    My first time here! I like the challenge of your Wordle prompts.

    Sal Buttaci

    • brenda w says:

      Glad to see you here, Salvatore. Welcome.

    • brenda w says:

      Salvatore, Your sonnet is great, unfortunately it looks like I can only leave a comment if I register for your blog? Also, if you want more readers, add a link to your piece on the Mister Linky icon above. Just click on it, and it will open a window where you can add your link.

  10. Dear Brenda and friends, If it’s still up for debate, I don’t like the other sites that need checking for the prompt one day and then “Posting Your Poems!” another day. I’d much rather, Brenda, that you post on Sunday and then we all have all week to write them. Some develop faster than others, but it’s not a speed contest, it’s supposed to be run.

    The more rules and dates, the less likely it is I’ll remember to participate. It’s also more work for Brenda, who also has her own poetry to maintain, and she is kind enough to create this challenge weekly. Just my thoughts… hope I’m not being a buzzkill. Complicated sucks for me!! Amy

  11. 45 minutes to spare. Good night all…

  12. Thanks Brenda. I have finally finished my poem. Long day, is it Sunday 🙂

    Pamela

  13. Mary says:

    Another suggestion, since apparently it has been decided to make the words available on Friday: How about making the words available here at the site? Those who want to check can do so, those who don’t want to check won’t. (And have Mr. Linky up on Sunday.) That way all will have the same ‘access.’

  14. Scribbler says:

    My second whirl! I loved the words this week, and you’re right, Brenda – the wordle community is absolutely great! 🙂

  15. Brenda, I’d like the words on Friday due to my demanding schedule. I’d like more time to write, and to let the words roll around a bit. We are all different in our needs. Please put me on the email list.

    Pamela

    • brenda w says:

      You’ll be there, Pamela. My schedule is tightening up now, too. I understand a busy life. Summer recharges me, and yes, I like to allow the words to roll around a bit. 🙂

      • Cathy says:

        Brenda – you can put me on the list send the words on Friday 🙂 With September approaching. I’ll be going back to revising poems on Sunday afternoon.

  16. Susannah says:

    I too enjoy the sunday morning excitement of opening the sunday wordle and seeing where the words take me!

    As we have all week to post anyway I don’t see the rush of having the words early? Just as it is seems perfect to me, though if others would like the wordle emailed on Friday that is a great option too.

    I persuaded my sister, (Deborah @ the caterpillar uprising) – to give it a go this week. She really enjoyed it, I think she will be hooked too! lol

    I love The Sunday Whirl! Thank you so much for posting it each week. 🙂

  17. Laurie Kolp says:

    Brenda- Great wordle words again, my friend.

  18. LOL I don’t know how it happens but there’s usually one or two words you use that ‘trigger’s my brain to go right off into what I want to say with all of the wordle words. Mine is up and published Brenda.
    Thank you so much for taking the time and trouble to do all of this so that we can enjoy taking part in them and reading so many others who also love the Sunday Whirl.
    Bren.

  19. 1sojournal says:

    Maybe I’m weird, but I enjoy the rush on Sunday morning. And Brenda, you must realize that this site is fast becoming a corner stone of the community of which you speak. Thanks for all the words, except maybe ‘revolution’ and ‘desperation’, lol. You don’t make this easy, fun yes, but not easy.

    Elizabeth
    http://soulsmusic.wordpress.com/

    • brenda w says:

      Thank you for your kind words Elizabeth. I’m happy to provide a Sunday morning rush. Wordles work for people, it helps them win their revolution against the desperation of writer’s block. 🙂

    • pmwanken says:

      Oh, I love the rush, too. Last night I was still awake when I knew the words had probably been posted. I couldn’t stop myself from seeing what they were. And that’s all it took for me to NOT go to sleep until I had put the words to rest! 🙂

  20. Deborah says:

    My first time here, I really enjoyed wordling :o)

  21. Mary says:

    Brenda, I was going to email you privately, but I think I will share openly here. I think that EITHER you should POST the wordle here on Friday and give people until Sunday (before putting up Mr. Linkie)…..or you should do as you have done, and post the wordle on Sunday and let people come up with their wordles whenever during the week. I don’t think it would work well to have two options at the same site. I believe the ‘playing field’ should be the same for all, however it is. (Including those who come upon your site for the first time and would not know of ‘other options’!)

    • brenda w says:

      I appreciate your concerns, Mary, but I don’t really understand why a “playing field” needs to be level here. We are people writing poems. Not competitors. This is a simple poetry blog site where I put words out there for people to use in poems. If some people want the words a bit early, I have no problem with that. I really don’t see it as a contest, or a problem.

      In the next week or so, I will create an about page with an explanation of the site, so newbies don’t miss out on anything.

  22. Yes, I thought we’d voted on that you were going to post the words on a Friday but not post the link til Sunday? But, I would join the email to be sent on a Friday for more time to write, please.

  23. pmwanken says:

    Thanks for leaving it open to post the same day…I would easily forget to come back and post.

    And…thank you, as always, for this site. I’m part of a group on Facebook and someone asked today what sites I go to for prompts. Hands down–this is my favorite. So maybe a few of those friends will wordle their way over here to give it a whirl! 😉

    You do a great job, Brenda!
    ~Paula

  24. magicalmysticalteacher says:

    Oh, yeah: “Granite Granny” is winkin’ right back at ya! 😉

  25. magicalmysticalteacher says:

    I would LOVE to be one of the people to whom you e-mailed the words on Friday. I always feel so rushed on Sunday! Thank you, thank you, thank you!

  26. http://www.drpkp.com/2011/08/dark-night-for-sunday-whirl-12-words.html

    Apologies for the double postings! My first time at The Sunday Whirl which is terrific fun!

Leave a Reply

