Wordle 9 ~ A Baker’s dozen

When I read Nicole Nicholson’s poem Homeward, I knew I wanted to take all of the wordle words for this week’s wordle from it. Immediately after reading it, I selected 12 words (and threw in a thirteenth), then I read it a second time and wrote my piece for the week, Aurora Borealis. Homeward is my favorite poem of the year thus far; I will read it throughout my life. If you have not read it, and I noticed that several of you have, treat yourself to it. Better yet, read it aloud, give it voice.

Nicole blogs at Raven’s Wing Poetry.  Thank you for giving us Homeward, Nicole. It is an honor to have you among the wordlers.

If you are new here, welcome.  Each week, I select 12 words from different poems, usually poems written by someone who has posted here.  I post them at 12:01 a.m. Mountain Standard Time.  The third Sunday of every month, I offer a 13th word for a baker’s dozen.  This week’s extra word is “etches.”  Have fun writing, and be sure to visit some of the other poets’ pieces.

24 comments on “Wordle 9 ~ A Baker’s dozen

  1. Mr. Walker says:

    A whole week late, but here’s my untitled poem at WordPress or Blogspot

  2. Hi there… that was an ops…moment that I had.
    My link for worlde 9 is here: http://wp.me/s1wgSW-784

    Thanks for adding me to your wordler list and the comment you left at mine.

  3. A littl tardy but here is mine.

    http://henryclemmonspoet.blogspot.com/2011/06/proofs-of-life.html

    Thank you for any and all comments. Loved these words!

  4. I opened an imaginary chest of drawers and found treasure, in stories and in images. Thank you for the wonderful Wordle, Brenda! Amy
    http://sharplittlepencil.wordpress.com/2011/06/20/renatas-scarves/

  5. Mike Patrick says:

    I enjoyed these words. They took off on their own.

    OUTSIDE MY WINDOW

  6. b_y says:

    Another grand batch of words. I had a blast with this one.
    After the Conflict

  7. I loved each word you selected!

  8. magicalmysticalteacher says:

    My haiku “Threads” is here

  9. A delightful set of words this week. Thanks, Brenda. You chose from a wonderful poem. I love Nicole’s writing.

    Pamela

    Her Flight Becomes Ours

  10. 1sojournal says:

    I used the words for an Etheree prompted by photos I took this past week that are posted on another blog.

    Wordle Etheree

    Elizabeth
    http://soulsmusic.wordpress.com/

  11. margo roby says:

    Wonder of wonders, mine is done:

    Poem Response to A Sunday Whirl # 9

    margo

    • Donna Kiser says:

      Brenda, that was lovely and fits perfectly with your chosen pic. I think I will give that a try–finding a pic to associate with the words.
      Thanks
      dk

      • brenda w says:

        Donna, Thank you, I’m glad you like my piece. The writing came before the picture, though. I saw the northern lights both in my home of Montana, and in Alaska. I wanted the picture to add to the reader’s visual.

        Choosing a picture can be helpful, though. Or read through the words several times, then think of a setting, or character. Let the words drive the action. If you haven’t read Nicole’s poem, do that, too. It’s chock full of inspiration.
        Have fun!
        ~Brenda

  12. magicalmysticalteacher says:

    I’ll be back when the poem falls into place, but since I prefer haiku, there’s no way I’ll use all 13 words in one piece! 🙂

  13. Donna Kiser says:

    Oh, my. What a way to start a Sunday morning. Hopefully, I’m able to return. LOL
    dk

  14. Susannah says:

    I love these sunday wordles. 🙂

    This is my 3rd week here and I used 11 of the words this week.

    Mine is here – Connected

  15. pmwanken says:

    Hello Brenda and fellow Wordlers! 🙂 Here is my whirl for this week’s wordle:

    Bits of my Poems

    ~ Paula

Leave a comment