linky schminky

Dear Wordlers,

Mister Linky threw a wrench into things this week. Blenza, Mister Linky’s parent company, has added a new widget plug-in for WordPress blogs. It is supposed to be stupendous. It just makes me feel stupid. The problem may be as simple as the Quintus template not accepting plug-ins, but the widget we were using is no longer available. Don’t be surprised if you come back to a different looking Whirl. By next week, I should have something figured out. As it was a beautiful day outside Sunday, I avoided the problem, but I will tinker with things a bit through the week and see where it whirls.

Thank you for your patience,
and if you don’t have any patience,
take this opportunity to practice it.

Peace, love, and poetry,

Brenda

9 comments on “linky schminky

  1. brenda w says:

    I figured out what happened. When Mister Linky widgets were updated, there was a new link for me to click to get to our old widget. I found it messing around on the site. My mind does not adapt quickly to digital change. My school is technology rich. It’s given me the skills that I do have, but my students swim circles around me. Their brains are wired for it.

    As for plug-ins and WordPress…..from what I can see, WordPress doesn’t allow them. Maybe it does if I “upgrade to premium,” but I checked out several templates, and didn’t see the picture the Linky site showed with a plug-in icon on the blog’s dashboard. I don’t know if any of you care about all of that….but everything is back to as normal as it gets around here.

  2. Misky says:

    I had no problem. Like the new look of it, too.

  3. vivinfrance says:

    Whatever you do, it’s all right with me. I didn’t have a problem on Sunday – merely blinked at the new appearance, and got on with it. I’m never surprised at the tinkering WordPress does with what worked fine in the first place! Enraged, sometimes, but not surprised! Thank you Barbara for your wonderful work.

  4. Double HA! Mr Linky’s parent company keeps telling me to add a plug-in, which I have no option for.

  5. 1sojournal says:

    Warning: Don’t pray for patience. All you will get is the opportunity to practice it. Thanks Brenda, for all that you do,

    Elizabeth

  6. julespaige says:

    It’s like waiting in a grocery line…you might choose the shortest line, but then the two people in front of you have issues. Make the best of the situation by not making it worse for all involved.

    Thanks Brenda for this wonderful community! We know it will be a while before machines take over the planet…we all were just hoping it would be later rather than sooner. šŸ™‚

  7. siggiofmaine says:

    No good deed goes unpunished….sigh.

  8. whimsygizmo says:

    Ha! I adore you. šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

