Wordle 35

 Dear Wordlers,

This week I took the words from my students’ writing. They wrote about their hopes, wishes, goals or fears for 2012. I spent the week scoring them with our district’s new writing across the curriculum rubric, and kept a list, then Len scratched anything over twelve. My initial intent was to select words with multiple meanings or more than one syllable.

It didn’t dawn on me until I’d already sent out early words that it was the third Sunday of the month. Yes, already! Look for a baker’s dozen next week, instead. If I ever get it together, I’ll forget where I put it…so it’s best to leave things in shambles.

Good luck with the words,

Brenda

22 comments on “Wordle 35

  1. I’m new here, but recognize a lot of the contributors. I tried this week’s Wordle
    at http://purplepeninportland.wordpress.com

  2. All citizens this time of year should dream of purple states. This way they can try their luck at the fly game AND will not happen to lag behind and trouble mother earth.

    How’s that??? 🙂 Merry Christmas!

  3. Ruth says:

    a late entry, my first time here…

  4. tmhHoover says:

    I have been following along for quite some time, via Margo Roby’s, Wordgathering blog.

    I looked at the words today and the second and third lines wrote themselves- The rest of the day I played with all the others. So nice to meet you all. look forward to reading and contributing more in the future. Thank you for the prompt Brenda.

  5. seingraham says:

    forgot to put my link up earlier and don’t see it in the sidebar, so for those who want to read the weird wordle attempt of the week: http://thepoet-tree-house.blogspot.com/

  6. seingraham says:

    I thought these words were going to be fairly easy but after five or six wrangled tries – came up with something completely off the wall … as with many others, predicated on the idea of the old year escaping but loosely, very loosely …

  7. Tailor-made for another “I Am Santa Claus”. And so I did. This time of year, is there anything else? Merry Christmas, Happy Hanukkah, Happy Kwanzaa and for the rest of us…

    http://wojisme.wordpress.com/2011/12/18/ready-for-take-off/

  8. Hello everyone! I’ve just posted my very first wordling attempt, thank you for the prompt!

  9. Peggy Goetz says:

    I’m just glad I remembered to post on Sunday! Busy time for many but also a good time to step aside and write poetry! Thank for the words, Brenda.

  10. I also ended up with a coming of the New Year kind of poem too (finally, took several tries though). Deceptively easy-looking words this time around, but still a great creative stretch. Happy Sunday!

  11. nan says:

    I liked where the words came from. They influenced my write. This feels like a first draft. Looking forward to reading the others.

  12. anl4 says:

    I loved the words!

  13. brenda w says:

    Good morning wordlers. I’m working on a children’s poem that keeps changing voice toward the end as I try to work in the words. I’ll keep at it.

    Break begins Wednesday, and I’m almost done providing my students with constructive feedback on their writing. Hoot! Hoot! That will free me up to visit your writing. Work kept me from most of you last week. Tis the season of holiday concerts, and boys’ basketball. Going through student writing is fun, especially when the prompt invites personal writing.

    See you soon, and hopefully you’ll see my children’s piece before the week ends. 🙂

  14. Laurie Kolp says:

    Thanks, Brenda! I hope you enjoy your Christmas break!

  15. Loved these words and as it is so close now to Christmas I went with my first Christmas theme. Thanks Brenda and thanks to your students for helping 🙂

  16. Traci B says:

    Got a busy day coming, so I’m posting early to make sure I don’t forget. Not as early as some of y’all, evidently, but early for me. 😉

  17. Susannah says:

    Good to be here again. Happy Sunday all. 🙂 x

  18. It is 3:30 am and I am wide awake, so I am posting now. Now, off to find a movie, which will lull me back to sleep.

    Happy holidays to all!

    Pamela

  19. Rinkly Rimes says:

    The coming of the New Year leapt out of the words. May I wish you a happy one. (Though, as my poem indicates, my wishes are pretty useless!)

  20. Mary says:

    Happy wordling, all! I missed last week and missed you all. Looking forward to reading what many of you come up with this week.

Leave a Reply

