Wordle 34

Dear Wordlers,

First I would like to welcome all of the newbies. Our group is growing. But as they say over at We Write Poems, more participants make richer soup. This week’s words come from  Christmas Sparrow, by Billy Collins.

After posting your poem, be sure to stop and visit others. We all live for comments, and the posts keep coming in all week. Post your link on Mister Linky, and comment below if you feel so inclined.

Write like there’s no tomorrow,

Brenda

23 comments on “Wordle 34

  1. Jennifaye says:

    So happy to wordle again! 🙂

  2. pmwanken says:

    Brenda–The Sunday Whirl is my favorite prompt…but this week, the words took a while to gel into shape. I don’t necessarily like where they took me, but they lead, I follow. ~ Paula

  3. Mike says:

    Another great set of words Brenda – but tough.

  4. I’m with Sharon; I never read the source poem, let alone anyone else’s take on the Wordle, until I compose my own. Afraid I’ll get influenced. In this case, I didn’t get to the prompt until right after attending (and briefly participating in) a concert, a tribute to a fundraiser for a dear friend and fantastic musician who is battling an aggressive brain cancer. The words tumbled out like dice.

    And about Universal Health Care so we don’t have to HAVE these events, don’t get me started! Peace, Amy

  5. Wow, these were really tough words for me to wrestle into shape this time. Looking forward to reading what everyone else did with them. Happy Sunday!

  6. What a surprise to find these words! They’ve afforded me the impetus I needed to add to my series, I AM SANTA CLAUS. The concept jumped right out of the words provided. Thanks for that!

  7. Rinkly Rimes says:

    I’ll do some commenting after I get back from a Xmas Party!

  8. seingraham says:

    As Nan said, I’m glad I read Collins’ poem after I posted mine, although I’ll admit I found these words more manageable than last week’s, and did have fun with them. Am still not sure what the protocol for linking is so am just putting mine here: …http://thepoet-tree-house.blogspot.com/ With reference to the early words Brenda, I did get mine so at least some went out … Thanks for this by the way. I’ve only just started writing again after a rather long dry spell and it’s nice to have a few lovely spots to go to!

  9. Elizabeth says:

    Brenda, the Billy Collins poem is exquisite, and I too am very glad I didn’t read it before doing this. My apologies for being missing these past weeks, trouble with my site and lack of desire are my only excuses. Yet, today’s words seemed very determined to make their own path. I finally let them.

    Elizabeth

  10. nan says:

    The Billy Collins poem is wonderful. He is a favorite of mine, but I did not know this piece. I am glad I read it after I played with the words and came up with a Wordle poem, because I don’t know if I could have written anything after reading that. Thank you!

  11. I wrote this haibun yesterday morning, and ironically, experienced my first earthquake in the evening. I won’t be writing about volcanoes anytime soon. 🙂

    Thanks for the words, Brenda.

    Pamela

  12. Mary says:

    Hmmm, I did not get the Early Words this week, Brenda. Did you send them? Curious…as I just looked back through all my mail to see if I had missed something. Grrrrh, well I will have to ‘be back’ sometime later.

    • brenda w says:

      I thought i sent them out, though may have called them 33 again, LOL. I was thinking of that this morning, when I finally sat down and wrote my piece. I’ll check, Mary. If you were missed it was inadvertent. See you soon!

  13. b_y says:

    Oh, did I have fun with this one!

  14. Traci B says:

    Some great work so far; I’ve enjoyed all of them. Viv, don’t you dare take it seriously – unless the subject matter naturally demands seriousness, that is; I love your humorous verses. 🙂

  15. Laurie Kolp says:

    You never know what will happen with those wordle words.

    http://lkharris-kolp.blogspot.com/2011/12/fort-me.html

  16. Thanks Brenda. Happy wordling everyone

  17. Susannah says:

    Glad to be here again. 🙂

    Happy Sunday all. x

  18. vivinfrance says:

    I must apologise, Brenda – I promise to take it seriously next week!

Leave a Reply

