Vote!

13 comments on “Vote!

  1. I enjoy the rush of the wordles… seeing the jumble of words and letting them fall into a poem and posting immediately before second guessing (others might refer to as editing) sets in… I find that the immediate posting is more creatively freeing…there is a life-time to edit and an infinite number of poems that can be caught before they vanish… I VOTE FOR OPTION #2

  2. I voted on option 1, I don’t like writing that fast and putting out some slop. One of the things I love/loved about “We Write Poems” and the late “Big Tent”, is we have/had time to formulate our thoughts. I always edit my pieces, so for me it is better if we have more time. I appreciate you asking all of us.

    Pamela

  3. Susannah says:

    I agree wholeheartedly with everything Mary says. I like seeing the words then posting as soon as I have written. For some reason I have never taken to the prompts that you have to go back later to post your links, but that is just personal preference. 🙂

  4. brenda w says:

    I just upgraded to “Platinum,” guess that means we’ll be here for a year. I might play around with Mister Linky a bit this week to see what the upgrade can bring us. I’d like to have posts like Magpie Tales, where the links are on the same page as the post.

    Thanks for looking into things further, Paula. You rock!

  5. pmwanken says:

    I voted for Option 2. Giving the option to post right away is helpful. There’s another site that posts a prompt one day and then the link to post the poems is another day. Frankly, in the busyness of life, it’s easy to forget to go back on the designated posting day. So I end up posting my poem on my own blog early anyway. And with timezone differences, odd working hours, and even insomnia…there’s any number of reasons why so many are done so early on Sunday–I’ve never felt like it’s a race to get my poem posted on Sunday. I don’t read anyone else’s Wordle poems until I’ve written my own anyway…I just grab the words and go. As for Mr. Linky….I don’t know what the “upgrade” option entails, but I find it frustrating to go to a site where I know I’ve posted to read others’ responses to the prompt, and the Mr. Linky links are gone…in its place is the note that that blog owner can upgrade to be able to show more than one Mr. Linky at a time. SO…with the caveat of having the upgrade option available, I say the Mr. Linky system works pretty well.

    • brenda w says:

      Thanks, Paula. I was wondering if the memes disappeared. It says something about upgrading in order to keep the html….you clarified that for me.

      I wonder how long the memes are operational….I hope they stay at least a week. Perhaps I’ll upgrade….it’s cheap.

      • pmwanken says:

        Well…it seems that unless you upgrade, you can only have one at a time. So, as soon as you post the Mr. Linky for the new prompt, the old one goes away…not only can you no longer add your poem (if you’re late in responding and wanting to catch up), but you also cannot click on anyone else’s poem they’ve linked.

  6. Irene says:

    Brenda i vote for option 1…it gives me time to simmer a bit and hopefully come up with a poem on Sunday. It’s difficult to not just come up with a poem once the work week starts, and hardly any time to visit blogs at all.

  7. Mary says:

    I like option 2. I enjoy the ‘heady’ feeling of working on the poem and posting it on the same day. I know one does not have to do it that day, but I LIKE to. As far as being a ‘finished’ poem, sometimes I will revise my poem later. Some mentioned that poems posted earlier get more visits. To this I would respond, if a person posts his/her poem LATER, perhaps he /she should be the one who INITIATES visits to others’ sites. I personally will always visit someone’s poem later in the week if I see them visiting mine let’s say Tuesday or Wednesday or even Thursday.

  8. I vote for option 1 too. It gives us time to ponder and get our ideas into shape before we take the plunge and jump in with our pieces and then time to post through the week too.
    Thanks for the vote Brenda. Did you see my last weeks effort about Kipling & Gunga Din?

  9. Cathy says:

    Trust me, that what’s happening. You post a poem early you get more visitors, you do it late, you get less visitors. It does take me a couple days to write and revise the poem. I’m not going rush it.

    I would also like to see a 3-4 days between from the time Brenda post the wordle till she open the linky thingy. Really don’t want to step on anybody toes but –

    Just because Brenda posted the wordle on Sunday doesn’t mean you have to hand it in on that day too. Guys, this not a race to see if you can get it done in one day. I come here Sunday afternoon or night to get the list of words, it always amazes me how many people got their poems done already.

    So yes, I voted for option 1 but with hopes that Monday will be the hand in day.

  10. Great idea, Brenda – I’m all in favour of having a little time to cogitate, and perhaps produce something a little more polished than a first draft.
    Thank you.

    • brenda w says:

      One of the reasons I like to run the blog, is for that time to polish. I usually start my wordle pieces on Wednesday and Thursday, then tinker with them until I post on Sunday. I like that time….of course everyone can post all week, but if you post earlier in the week, it seems your poem gets more visitors….at least that’s what I’ve noticed as the site grows older.

      We’ll see what the general consensus is in a few more days.

Leave a Reply

