Wordle 11

If you haven’t visited Margo Roby’s blog, Wordgathering, do yourself a favor, visit. On Tuesday Tryouts Margo offers an interesting prompt or form every week. The prompt is offered Tuesday, but post any time all week. Margo’s blog engenders informative fun discussion. Take a gander at her Thursday Thoughts posts. Margo writes excellent poetry, too. The words hurtles, siren, limbs, and toss came from her poem Broken Limbs. Reaching, clears, fresh, and fading came from Barbara Yates Young’s piece, They Meet, But Not Cute at her blog Briarcat. Barbara’s wordplay delights me, I encourage you to frequent her writing. Flossed, flecks, turned and flew came from Laurie Kolp’s piece Slippery. I am just getting to know Laurie’s work, and Slippery surprised me. I love surprises and I loved flossed, flecks and flew.  Explore her poetry at Conversations with Laurie.

31 comments on “Wordle 11

  1. Mr. Walker says:

    I unofficially lay claim to the most late post with this one: Track Meet. I’m only three weeks late.

    Richard

  2. Donna Kiser says:

    Late, late but here. Now I can go back and read the others.
    dk

    http://dkrighttowrite.blogspot.com/2011/07/wordle-11-refresh-freshness.html

  3. Peggy Goetz says:

    I am late with this but I still enjoyed trying it. I was away from the Internet for the July 4 weekend. Thanks for this Brenda.

    Peggy
    http://ponderingspeggy.blogspot.com/2011/07/poem-shore-break.html

  4. Laurie Kolp says:

    Brenda- Thank you so much for the inspiration, and for using my words in this week’s wordle. I’ve been out of town so am behind, too.

    Here’s mine:

    http://lkharris-kolp.blogspot.com/2011/07/worried-whirl.html

  5. Hi there this is my effort for #11. A bit late but better late than never 🙂
    Siren
    These are a lot of fun to take part in, thanks for organising it.

  6. b_y says:

    I hate being late
    Pant, pant, gasp
    but I like this, for all its flaws
    Henry’s Rainy Evening

  7. brenda w says:

    If you’ve been reading from the bottom up as they post, please scroll down to Victoria’s comment. She posted yesterday, and ended up in the spam folder. 🙂 It was dark in there, and her words wanted light.

  8. Marianne says:

    Here I am, back from our trip to New York for son’s wedding:
    http://herwordsbloomed.blogspot.com/2011/07/sunday-wordle-11.html

  9. Tilly Bud says:

    Just adding this so I can subscribe 🙂 I keep missing them 😦

  10. Brenda, thanks as always for a great Wordle. I’m hooked. At first, I found the mix of present tense and past tense challenging, but it actually led me to the point of the poem! Peace, Amy

    http://sharplittlepencil.wordpress.com/2011/07/05/unexpected-turn-wordling-whirl/

  11. nan says:

    Jumping in a little late, with the canvas.

  12. I’ve been looking at the high quality wordle inspired poems here off and on for a few weeks, inspired by my friend Mary’s encouragement. Wordles are hard for me and it took a while to get my nerve up to participate, but here I am, http://victoria-andnowpoems.blogspot.com/2011/07/escape-inspired-by-wordle.html

    • brenda w says:

      Victoria, I’m sorry it took me so long to approve your comment. It went to my spam folder. Now that you’re approved, your comments should come automatically. Thank you for your kind comments about the poetry posted here. I’m glad you’ve decided to participate, and now I’m off to read your piece!
      ~Brenda

  13. here’s mine-http://thesilenceoftheday.blogspot.com/2011/07/chefchaoen.html

  14. Traci B says:

    Definitely a challenge this week! Here’s mine: America’s Flossin’ Tonight

  15. Susannah says:

    Oooh, this one caused me problems. 🙂

    Still I have posted – Waiting for Daybreak

  16. pmwanken says:

    I read the words this morning and had in my mind where I thought I would go…and now, after finally sitting down at my computer, something entirely different emerged. Here is my:

    Clear Vision.

  17. irene says:

    Brenda, you just have an uncanny ability to pick the right words. Now that’s magic!

    posthumously

  18. I had to write several drafts before this even came together. Thanks for the words, Brenda. Happy Sunday and 4th (to those who celebrate)

    Pamela

    Scarlet and Bursts

  19. 1sojournal says:

    Brenda, I for one, was grateful for the lag, lol. Here’s mine and it seems to have a peculiar attachment to what I have been doing outside of the realm of words,

    http://soulsmusic.wordpress.com/2011/07/03/survival/

    Elizabeth
    http://soulsmusic.wordpress.com/

  20. margo roby says:

    I just opened The Sunday Whirl and had my day made by seeing my words as part of the wordle and your comments about my blog. Thank you, Brenda.

    margo

  21. brenda w says:

    This piece took me two days of revising, leaving it alone, revising, leaving it alone. I almost gave up and started again, but it was an insistent piece. It kept following me around until I finished. I used flies instead of flew, but did get them all in The Siren’s Harp.

  22. brenda w says:

    Imagine my disappointment as I opened The Sunday Whirl to start reading the early bird pieces, and the post wasn’t there. I am so sorry to those of you who count on me. It was scheduled to post at 12:01, as always, but I must not have hit publish. Wordle 11 sat in my dashboard glovebox all night long as a draft. Who knows–maybe the wait marinated some magic in those words.

    ~Brenda

Leave a Reply

